Writing Process: Letting The Idea Go

I have not done this often. However, I may continue to post about my process of things that I feel I have learned. Today’s topic, as we all know is “Letting the Idea Go”.

There is a time for everything, etc etc. So yeah, sometimes we have to let go of our stories. This time, I will be talking less about when a story is done, and more about when a story is not ready to be finished.

Let’s face it as creatively minded, or attempting to be creatively minded people, most of our ideas never float, hell most of them can barely twitch on the bottom of the ocean floor that is the creative process. The more we create however the farther up the creative food chain things get.

Sometimes we have to decide if its chum/ bait or if it’s currently worthy of letting evolve.That can be hard, I admit I have tried to push ideas onto paper or into my word processing program of choice at the time and come to find myself disappointed. As in any process admitting and accepting are the first two steps. In high school I wrote poetry, there I found a box of my writing from then, that box will most likely never see the light of day ever again, but hell who knows.

So here we go, is the inkwell dried up for your character? Your plot?

1: Try testing your characters with writing prompts.

(This can result in many different conclusions, sometimes other stories and ideas may emerge. Let them. Other times you may find out some of your characters make the same decisions that might not have within their own story. Once I found a subplot I had missed that formed a pretty strong backbone for the story I had been working on.)

2: Still stuck? Write something else?

3: If you are still reading maybe you are totally worn out from this work, go take a walk. Put away the pen/ word processing device. GO DO SOMETHING THAT IS NOT WRITING. Yeah, I said it, you writer, creator etc. Stop because chopping down a tree with a blunt ax is what you are doing.

4:Welcome back, well sorry to see you back, ok I don’t know how to say hi at this point. So you still can’t seem to make it work. I am sorry to say, it is time to move on.

5: Moving on is hard, however, it does not have to be forever. Many of the things I have come to love and have other people love have been dead in the water at one point. They have been pushed so far back into my drawer, inbox, secret box in under my bed, that I never expected them to come crawling out. Then one day, bam! There it was that one thing out of nowhere that I need to continue the story. Now sometimes it may just be in blasts and bursts. Other times it’s a quick train to the last stop.

If you get stuck again, that is fine. We all do. At least I hope so, if I am the only one who ever gets stuck creatively then maybe I am as insane as I think I am for keeping this whole creating thing going.

I will leave it up to someone else’s words this time…

“There is a vitality, a life-force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and will be lost.”
Martha Graham

Aka keep creating!

Michael “Fynn” Lange

Leave a Reply

