Assassin of Verona (Scene XI)

(Previous scenes.)

Scene XI:
The Assassin’s Apartment

Meanwhile the hooded figure had carted the bodies along the road towards the tombs. When the figure knew no one had been paying attention they turned off the wrong way.
Silvia and Gabriello awoke as they arrived in the lot behind the Assassin’s apartments.
The small group came through the back door of the back entrance of the Assassin’s apartments. They consisted of a small room. A hearth stood in one corner of the room, a thin mattress laid on the floor, in another corner was a crib.

The small group came through the back door of the back entrance of the Assassin’s apartments. They consisted of a small room. A hearth stood in one corner of the room, a thin mattress laid on the floor, in another corner was a crib.
“You have a child?” Silvia said, shocked.
“Question my life farther and I will be gone without either of you.” The Assassin responded as sharp as a blade.
“Silvia do you want to risk this all now?”
“I will not question you. You have helped us so far. I should have never commented on the matter. I apologize.”
“I accept. There is no time, they will be looking for your bodies if they know they never made it to their graves. We need horses. Have you done what was asked of you Montague?”
“I have the horses. The beasts are tied up only a few moments away.”
“The two of us will go. We will be back in a few moments.” The Assassin said.
“I will watch the child. I miss watching children.”
“I thought you no longer felt?”
“We are close to done with this whole situation. This will be my own personal last release.”
“Understandable,” Gabriello said.

The Assassin and Gabriello left her. Silvia kneeled at the baby’s crib. She hummed as gently as possible. The baby woke from its sleep. It did not weep. It watched her. Silvia had lost herself within the baby’s eyes.

“Soft as the breeze on a summer’s day, bright as the morning sun. Sleep little babe with a wink and a dream, let the Mab take thy sorrows away.” Silvia sang. “I once sang to a small girl who lay in her crib as she bobbed and jabbered and weaved. I sang till she slept as the nurse was away.” She stopped singing. If she sang another word she would have exploded into tears. Her tongue, however, was not done.

“What fate do you face? I hope it is better than all of ours. Look at the trouble I have caused. Your father will be back, then away we all go. We will escape this. Your father has enough funds to make you a prince. Maybe I may talk my way into being your nurse. I wish I had taken up the service for my own child. Not to leave her to her own angst, as I more than half shunned her.” Silvia said, then she was silent.

“I once sang to a small girl who lay in her crib as she bobbed and jabbered and weaved. I sang till she slept as the nurse was away. “She stopped singing. If she sang another word she would have exploded into tears. Her tongue, however, was not done. “What fate do you face? I hope it is better than all of ours. Look at the trouble I have caused. Your father will be back, then away we all go. We will escape this. Your father has enough funds to make you a prince. Maybe I may talk my way into being your nurse. I wish I had taken up the service for my own child. Not to leave her to her own angst, as I more than half shunned her.” Silvia said, then she was silent.
The child began to cry. Silvia opened her arms standing up. She picked the baby up. The baby ceased its crying as soon as it was within Silvia’s arms. A moment later Lord Montague arrived with the horses and the Assassin. They mounted the horses and rode away from Verona.

(The final scene, Scene XII: Outside Verona)

One thought on “Assassin of Verona (Scene XI)

Leave a Reply

